top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureallisontawil

🔊🔇🔉


👂🏻Assignment description:

We were told to do a team field research assignment about sound levels and communication around the BC campus. When we came into class, we were told to plan out the research with our team. We picked 6 public locations on campus and around campus to investigate. We recorded, each location, purpose of the area, and the average decibel (dB) level, types of "noise" observed, and types of communication activities or acts at the location.


👂🏻Experience and results:

The locations that my group measured was the pond, library first floor, Boylan hall cafeteria, West quad, Bedford avenue College gate, and the roof. I was surprised that out of all the locations, the highest sound decibels were at the Bedford Ave Brooklyn College gate. I also didn’t expect that the roof would be as loud as the West quad and the cafeteria. The noise was because of the wind, air conditioning, the cars, and honking.


👂🏻Research question:

I listen to music all the time, whether it’s on head phones or speakers, and I blast it as loud as it goes. At concerts or at party’s they blast the music extremely loud. I’m interested in researching about dangerous levels of music at concert venues and parties. I wonder how exactly high level sound decibels impacts a persons hearing. If I had a chance, I would definitely research the sound decibels at concert venues or parties and how it can affect a person‘s ears and brain. Also, if there are preventative ways to protect your hearing.




 


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page